Monday, December 09, 2013

Stravinsky: Complete Music for Piano & Orchestra

"This Stravinsky is big, warm, serious, and sophisticated; but it's also rhythmic, energetic, and entertaining. [Conductor Ilan] Volkov couldn't ask for a more fitting soloist than Steven Osborne. ... Osborne has great technique, a big warm sound, solid interpretive skills, and an affinity for this kind of music. Conductor, soloist, and orchestra work well together. The Piano Concerto reading is deliberate, full in tone, and commanding. ... Balances are exquisite from top to bottom: everything is gripping, clear-cut, and full in tone. The Capriccio (with echoes of Oedipus Rex from two years earlier) has the same qualities ..." (Roger Hecht, American Record Guide, Sept./Oct. 2013, pp. 189-190).

View catalog record here!


Post a Comment

<< Home