Friday, September 20, 2013

Onslow: 3 Cello Sonatas, op. 16

"Georges Onslow (1784-1853) was an Englishman born in France. He studied with Hullmandel, Dussek, and Cramer, and later with Reicha. He also played the cello, writing these sonatas in 1820. They were considered at that time on a level with Beethoven. They lack the concise intensity of Beethoven, but they have much beauty and romantic feeling to recommend them. It is good to hear Maria Kliegel again. Her warm sound is a pleasure. ... Altogether, it is a worthwhile project well handled by all, including the engineers" (David W. Moore, American Record Guide, July/August 2013, p. 129).

View catalog record here!


Post a Comment

<< Home