Saturday, March 27, 2010

Unknown Rachmaninoff (Denis Matsuev, piano)

Copy at Case Memorial Library
Contents: Etudes-tableaux : op. 39. No. 2, in A minor (6:28) ; No. 6, in A minor (2:33) ; No. 9, in D (3:41) — Sonata no. 2, op. 36 (1913-1931) (19:22) — Fugue in D minor (1891) (2:21) — Suite for orchestra in D minor : version for piano (19:31) — Prelude in G minor op. 23, no. 5 (3:33) — Prelude in G sharp minor op. 32, no. 12 (2:45).
"Rachmaninoff devotees are in for a treat: Denis Matsuev returns to Carnegie Hall Sunday, Feb. 21, to perform Rachmaninoff's 'Fuga in D Minor,' transcribed for piano by Rachmaninoff himself in 1891. Matsuev was handpicked by the Rachmaninoff Foundation to record this recently discovered early work. In addition, he will also perform Tchaikovsky's 'Seasons' and Mussorgsky's 'Pictures at an Exhibition.' Since his victory at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, Matsuev is regarded as a star on the international concert stage. Recent and upcoming performances include appearances with the New York Philharmonic, the Berliner Philharmoniker and the London Symphony Orchestra" (Fern Siegel, "Stage Door," Huffington Post, 2/18/10).


Post a Comment

<< Home