Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Lutosławski: Symphonies 3 and 4; Les Espaces du sommeil

"Listen to this: Lutosławski's Fourth Symphony, his last major work before his death in 1994, and a piece that symbolises and cements the achievement of his musical language. This is astonishingly eloquent music: a piece that creates a genuinely symphonic discourse through a revivification of some classical principles of achieving unity through diversity, but which is also open and adventurous enough to admit the existence of doubt, conflict, and melancholy – listen to the final few minutes to hear what I mean" (Tom Service, "A Guide to Witold Lutosławski's Music," The Guardian, 1/15/13).

View catalog record here!


Post a Comment

<< Home