Monday, June 14, 2010

Natalie Merchant: Leave Your Sleep

Copy at Case Memorial Library
Contents (all music by Merchant, texts as noted): Nursery rhyme of innocence and experience (Charles Causley) — Equestrienne (Rachel Field) — Calico pie (Edward Lear) — Bleezer's ice cream (Jack Prelutsky) — It makes a change (Mervyn Peake) — The king of China's daughter (anon.) — The dancing bear (Albert Bigelow Paine) — The man in the wilderness (anon.) — maggie and milly and molly and may (E. E. Cummings) — If no one ever marries me (Laurence Alma-Tadema) — The sleepy giant (Charles Edward Carryl) — The peppery man (Arthur Macy) — The blind men and the elephant (John Godfrey Saxe) — Adventures of Isabel (Ogden Nash) — The Walloping Window Blind (Carryl) — Topsyturvey-world (William Brighty Rands) — The janitor's boy (Nathalia Crane) — Griselda (Eleanor Farjeon) — The land of Nod (Robert Louis Stevenson) — Vain and careless (Robert Graves) — Crying, my little one (Christina Rossetti) — Sweet and a lullaby (anon.) — I saw a ship a-sailing (anon.) — Autumn lullaby (anon.) — Spring and fall : to a young child (Gerard Manley Hopkins) — Indian names (Lydia Huntley Sigourney).


Post a Comment

<< Home