Thursday, December 26, 2013

Flavours: Music for Cello and Piano

"The title is apt. Contrasted periods and composers are played by two musicians [Amber Docters van Leeuwen and Taisiya Pushkar] who clearly enjoy making the most of whatever mood the composer portrays. In the curious Debussy sonata each moment is part of a colorful or flavorful conversation between the players. Exaggeration of everything that happens is the rule of the game. This is the essence of the interpretation. I am accustomed to a more formally oriented reading of this lovely music, but this works also. Alfred Schnittke (1934-98) writes a three-movement sonata that offers a serious and pungent review of Russia's state of mind towards the end of the last century. It is dissonant but moving, and these players make us experience it in spades in the slowest performance of the two outer Largo movements that I have heard ..." (David W. Moore, American Record Guide, July/Aug. 2013, p. 174).

View catalog record here!


Post a Comment

<< Home