Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Angelika Nebel: Bach Transcriptions for Piano

"This is Nebel's second disc of Bach transcriptions I have had the pleasure to listen to. ... We should be thankful for the likes of Nebel, who seems to have an unerring sense of great arrangements, and plays them with every nuance. This marvelous recital is framed by two large works, the Prelude & Fugue in A, S 536 arrranged by Walter Braunfels and the 'Ricercar a 6' from the Musical Offering, arranged by Wagner Stefani D'Aragona Malheiro Prado (what a name!). ... While I also enjoy the more virtuosic flashy piano transcriptions of Bach, this program has given me great pleasure over many more hearings than typically necessary for a review. Simply put, this is all beautiful music, beautifully played" (James Harrington, American Record Guide, July/Aug. 2013, p. 57).

View catalog record here!


Post a Comment

<< Home