Tuesday, March 09, 2010

Hot Chip: One Life Stand

Copy at Case Memorial Library
Contents: Thieves in the night (with drums by Leo Taylor and steel pans by Fimber Bravo) — Hand me down your love (with drums by Charles Hayward and strings arranged, performed, and recorded by Geese [Vincent Sipprell and Emma Smith] — I feel better (steel pans by Bravo) — One life stand (drums by Hayward, pans by Bravo) — Brothers — Slush (drums and chorus vocals by Hayward, pans by Bravo, mixed by Hot Chip) — Alley cats (mixed by Hot Chip) — We have love — Keep quiet (mixed and engineered by Hot Chip) — Take it in. All songs written, recorded, produced, and performed by Hot Chip; engineered by Tom Hopkins, mixed by Dan Carey and assisted by Alexis Taylor, except as noted.
"As we face limitless war and limited jobs, everyone could use an outlet, and Hot Chip’s fourth album offers plenty of great getaways. The combination of exquisite synth-rock, steel drums, and Alexis Taylor’s falsetto will keep you from losing your mind by encouraging it to wander" ("Playlist," Wired, 2/10, p. 41).


Post a Comment

<< Home